Everything But the Kitchen Sink Salad

At my house, I never know if i’m going to be feeding 2 people or 10.  We have a constant stream of friends and houseguests, so I always cook more than I need to just in case someone shows up at the last minute.  Sometimes I really really don’t feel like cooking, but I do want to eat something hearty and filling- that’s when my Everything But the Kitchen Sink salad comes in handy.

The finished salad

The finished salad

I use whatever we have on hand, plus whatever fabulousness my mom has grown in her garden.  I want the salad to be filling, so I use veggie sausage, seasonal fruit, cheese and croutons to round out all the vegetables.  This salad was originally inspired by my friend Cecily, who made a quick lunch for me one day that got me over my fear of making salads.  Hers was a simple one made with spinach, feta, veggie sausage and fresh cherries.  I’ve been a salad-making fiend ever since.

Everything But the Kitchen Sink Salad:

Makes enough salad to generously feed 4 people

Ingredients:

Several bunches mixed lettuces (I used butter and sierra lettuce), washed and torn into bite-sized pieces

Small handful of pea pods or peas

Yellow Heirloom Pea Pods

Yellow Heirloom Pea Pods

1 avocado, peeled, halved, pitted and diced

3 medium carrots, peeled and grated

1 tomato, diced

3 celery stalks, diced

1 red bell pepper, seeds removed and diced

1/2 large cucumber, peeled and sliced thin

Several handfuls of sliced seasonal fruit (cherries, apples, pears, mangoes, etc;)

2 veggie sausages, sautéed in olive oil and diced

Add the following to your taste:

veggie bacon bits

crumbled cheese (goat or feta)

sunflower seeds or nuts of your choice

croutons

Several handfuls of your favorite sprouts (I used alfalfa)

Salad mise en place

Salad mise en place

Directions:

Place the following ingredients in a large salad bowl and mix with your favorite dressing.  I use Annie’s Goddess Dressing when I don’t feel like making my own.  Grub down and enjoy!

Note: to make this salad vegan, simply do not add the cheese.

1 Response to “Everything But the Kitchen Sink Salad”


  1. 1 Kirstin April 5, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Grated carrots are so much better in a salad than sliced ones. I’m a fan of grated root vegetable salads too.


Leave a Reply

