Pie in a Cup

Pie in a Cup

Orange custard plus apples plus pie crust equals yum!

I turned a badly made pie crust into a delicious, custard pie-filled ramekin of goodness.  Yesterday, I tried a new pie crust recipe, but should have stuck to my tried and true favorite from “The Wooden Spoon Dessert Book”.  I expected this new crust recipe to turn out wonderfully, but instead I ended up with a half-burnt, half-baked travesty.  Had time permitted, I would have started over.  However, I had to hurry to prepare for a birthday party so I whipped out a set of ramekins and pressed small circles of half-baked dough into the bottom of each cup.  I then filled them with a doubled version of the planned recipe, an apple/orange custard from “Rustic Fruit Desserts” and baked them in a water bath.  What could have been a disaster turned into the hit of the party- Pie in a Cup!  Now i’m dreaming of more and more pie+ramekin possibilities.

0 Responses to “Pie in a Cup”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

